top of page

Hello Again!

Apologies for the time between posts. I’m currently at day +35 post-transplant and I’ve so far avoided any major setbacks (touch wood). However, the past 2-3 weeks have been a bit of a rollercoaster – I’ve been allowed to go home twice and both times (after 2-3 nights in my own bed) I’ve returned to hospital with a mild virus-related fever.


During my time at home, it was strongly suggested that I regularly monitor my blood pressure, body temperature, and keep a close check on my general feelings of health, or otherwise. If I were to develop any symptoms that are even slightly suggestive of infection (e.g. chills, rigors, temperature above 38°C), then I’m required to admit myself to emergency. It was very deflating to be sitting on the couch at home and seeing the numbers on my thermometer creep above 38°C, particularly the second time around. Both times I’ve found myself being transferred from the emergency department to the transplant ward, my home-away-from-home. My first readmission lasted four nights and my second has so far lasted six nights. I’m currently still in hospital, although if the improvement in my condition over the past couple of days continues, then I should be able to return home for Easter.


I would like to provide more detailed accounts about my experience, however, writing takes time and I’m finding it difficult to provide more detailed posts in a timely manner (hence the delay). So while things are still a bit topsy-turvy, I think it would be more appropriate to provide more frequent, yet less detailed posts so that people can be better updated on my condition. I can then provide more details (and photos) about my journey when things have calmed down and I have more time and space to reflect and write.


Watch this space.

bottom of page